3rd Filmfare Awards


3rd (Third) Filmfare Awards 1956

The 3rd Filmfare Awards (At a Glance)

Place HeldBombay
(now Mumbai)
Number of Award Categories12
Most AwardsBiraj Bahu (2),
Jagriti (2)
Previous Filmfare Awards2nd Filmfare Awards 1955
Next Filmfare Awards4th Filmfare Awards 1957

Filmfare Awards is one of the oldest awards for Indian Cinema. These awards are presented to the artists of Hindi Cinema for their excellent work to motivate and admire their talent. The 3rd Filmfare Awards was the third installment of the Filmfare Series.

The original name of the Filmfare Award was Clare Award, named after Clare Mendonca. He was a film critic of The Times of India who unfortunately died in the same year.

Filmfare Awards started in the year 1954, the 1st award ceremony was held on 21st March 1954. The first award ceremony was held in the Metro Cinema (Established 1938), situated in Bombay (now Mumbai).

3rd Filmfare Awards were held in Bombay like the earlier two award functions. Film personalities received awards in twelve (12) categories.

Winners of 3rd Filmfare Awards (1956)

S. No.AwardWinner
1Best FilmJagriti (1954)
2Best DirectorBimal Roy for Biraj Bahu (1954)
3Best ActorDilip Kumar for Azaad (1955)
4Best ActressKamini Kaushal for Biraj Bahu (1954)
5Best Actor in Supporting RoleAbhi Bhattacharya for Jagriti (1954)
6Best Actress in Supporting RoleNirupa Roy for Minimji (1955)
7Best Music DirectorHemant Kumar for Nagin (1954)
8Best StoryPandit Mukhram Sharma for Vachan
3rd Filmfare Awards 1956

Technical Awards

S. No.AwardWinner
9Best Cinematographer B & WDwarka Divecha for Yasmin
10Best EditingHrishikesh Mukherjee for Naukari
11Best Sound RecordistR. Kaushik for Amar
12Best Art Director (B&W)Rusi Banker for Mirza Ghalib
Technical Awards of 3rd Filmfare Awards 1956

Highlights-3rd Filmfare Awards 1956

See more Filmfare Awards

Also See

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here