1st Filmare Awards (1954)


First Filmfare Awards 1954

The 1st Filmfare Awards (At a Glance)

Date21 March 1954
Place HeldMetro Cinema, Bombay
(now Mumbai)
(David Abraham Chulukar)
Number of Award Categories5
Next Filmfare Awards2nd Filmfare Awards 1955

There are many film awards in India and Filmfare Awards are one of the oldest. These awards meant for the artist of Hindi Cinema Artists for their hard work, motivation and to admire their talent.

Filmare Awards initiated in the year 1954. The award ceremony held on 21st March 1954. The first award ceremony was held in the Metro Cinema (Established 1938), situated in Bombay (now Mumbai).

Actor David Abraham Chulukar, popularly known has David, hosted the First Filmfare Awards. Geroge Allen, the then US Ambassador to India was the Chief Guest of the function.

Initially there were no nominations for the Awards and the Awards were given in five categories. That is why only five Awards were given in the 1st Award Function under five categories i.e. Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Music.

Originally the awards were known as Clare Award after the name of Clare Mendonca, a film critic of The Times of India who unfortunately died in the same year.

Winners of First Filmfare Awards (1954)

S. No. Name Of AwardWinners
1Best FilmDo Bigha Zamin (1953)
2Best DirectorBimal Roy for Do Bigha Zamin (1953)
3Best ActorDilip Kumar for Daag (1952)
4Best ActressMeena Kumari for  Baiju Bawra (1952)
5Best Music DirectorNaushad for the song Tu Ganga Ki Mauz from Baiju Bawra (1952)
Filmfare Awards 1954

First Filmfare Awards FAQ

Q. In which year did the Filmfare award start?
Ans: The Filmfare Awards started in 1954. The 1st Filmare Awards were held on 21 March 1954.

Q: Where was the first Filmfare award held?
Ans: The 1st Filmare Awards were held at Metro Cinema, in Bombay (now Mumbai) on 21 March 1954.

Q: What was the original name of the Filmfare Award?
Ans: The original name of the Filmfare Awards was Clare Awards. The name was given after Clare Mendonca, the editor of The Time of India (Times Group).

Q: Who first win the Filmfare Award?
Ans: Dilip Kumar (Best Actor), Meena Kumari (Best Actress), Bimal Roy (Best Director and Best Film-As a Producer), and Naushad (Best Music Director) won the first set of Filmfare Awards in the First Filmfare Awards 1954.

See more Filmfare Awards

3rd Filmfare Awards 1956
4th Filmfare Awards 1957
5th Filmfare Awards 1958
10th Filmfare Awards 1963
20th Filmfare Awards 1973
30th Filmfare Awards 1983
40th Filmfare Awards 1995
50th Filmfare Awards 2005
60th Filmfare Awards 2015
66th Filmfare Awards 2021
Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here