IIFA Award for Best Lyricist



  1. About IIFA Award for Best Lyricist
  2. Winners List


The 1st IIFA Awards was held on 24 June 2000 at Millennium Dom, London, United Kingdom. Since then, the Award Ceremony is being held in different countries and continents.

Above all, the IIFA Awards have become a symbol of glorifying the success of Bollywood in the world.

The IIFA Award for Best Lyricist is being given since the inception of the IIFA Awards in 2000.

Anand Bakshi became the first recipient of the IIFA Award for Best Lyricist. He received the award for the song Ishq Bina from Taal (1999).

The Award for Best Lyricist is one of the Popular IIFA Awards and a part of the Annual IIFA Awards.

The winner of the IIFA Award for Best Lyricist is chosen on the basis of a worldwide public voting/poll.

The IIFA Award for Best Lyricist is meant to honor and encourage Lyrics Writers/Lyricist for their extraordinary work in the relevant field.

Here is the list of the Winners of the IIFA Award for Best Lyricist:

Winners – IFFA Award for Best Lyricist

Winners of 2000s

IIFA AwardWinnerSongFilm
1st IIFA Awards (2000)Anand BakshiIshq BinaTaal
2nd IIFA Awards (2001)Javed AkhtarPanchhi Nadiya PawanRefugee
3rd IIFA Awards (2002)Javed AkhtarRadha Kaise Na JaleLagaan
4th IIFA Awards (2003)Nusrat BadrDola Re DolaDevdas
5th IIFA Awards (2004)Javed AkhtarKal Ho Na Ho (Title Song)Kal Ho Naa Ho
6th IIFA Awards (2005)Javed AkhtarPal Pal Hai BhariSwades
6th IIFA Awards (2005)Sayeed QuadriBheege Hont TereMurder
7th IIFA Awards (2006)GulzarKajra ReBunty Aur Babli
8th IIFA Awards (2007)Prasoon JoshiRubarooRang De Basanti
9th IIFA Awards (2008)Javed AkhtarMain Agar KahoonOm Shanti Om
10th IIFA Awards (2009)Javed AkhtarJashn-E-BaharaJodhaa Akbar

Winners of 2010s

IIFA AwardWinnerSongFilm
11th IIFA Awards (2010)Swanand KirkireBehti Haw Sa Tha Wo3 Idiots
12th IIFA Awards (2011)Niranjan IyengarSajdaMy Name Is Khan
13th IIFA Awards (2012)Irshad KamilNadaan ParindeyRock Star
14th IIFA Awards (2013)Amitabh BhattacharyaAbhi Mujh Me KahinAgneepath
15th IIFA Awards (2014)MithoonTum Hi HoAashiqui 2
16th IIFA Awards (2015)Manoj MuntashirGalliyaanEk Villain
17th IIFA Awards (2016)Varun GroverMoh Moh Ke DhaageDum Laga Ke Haisha
18th IIFA Awards (2017)Amitabh BhattacharyaChanna MereyeAe Dil Hai Mushkil
19th IIFA Awards (2018)Manoj MuntashirMere Rash-E-QamarBaadshaho
20th IIFA Awards (2019)Amitabh BhattacharyaDhadakDhadak

Winners of 2020s

IIFA AwardWinnerSongFilm
21st IIFA Awards (2021)Manoj MuntashirTeri MittiKesari

22nd IIFA Awards 2022

Best Lyricist [Nominees and Winner(s)]

B. Praak,
Man Bharraya
Kausar MunirLehra Do
Irshad KamilRait Zara Si
(Atrange Re)
Irshad KamilShayad
(Love Aaj Kak)
Tanishk BagchiRaatan Lambiyaan

You may also like:

  1. Winners of IIFA Popular Awards
  2. Winner of IIFA Music Awards
  3. Winner of IIFA Special Awards
  4. Winner of IIFA Technical Awards


We (Team Bollywood Product) often update or republish content on this website. We take utmost care and caution while updating or republishing the content so that the views can get updated information on the given topic.

We try our best to provide the best-authenticated data. We have also focused on a good user experience for our readers. That is why we have not monetized the site yet for the best user experience.

However, inadvertent errors and omissions are inevitable during the process. If you find any error or omission, please feel free to write us at BollywoodProduct.in@gmail.com. We will be more than happy to make the requisite correction.

Spread the Love:

It takes a lot to work without any monetary gains. And we have been doing the same for the last year. Thus, sharing the content on various social platforms and with your near and dear ones will provide a source of motivation for us. We promise you to provide the best value for your valuable time.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here