IIFA Award for Best Director



  1. About IIFA Award for Best Director
  2. Winners List


The 1st IIFA Awards was held on 24 June 2000 at Millennium Dom, London, United Kingdom. Since then, the Award Ceremony is being held in different countries and continents.

Above all, the IIFA Awards have become a symbol of glorifying the success of Bollywood in the world.

The IIFA Award for Best Director is being given since the inception of the IIFA Awards in 2000.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali became the first recipient of the IIFA Best Director award. He received the award for Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam (1999).

The Award for Best Director is one of the Popular IIFA Awards and a part of the Annual IIFA Awards.

The winner of the IIFA Award for Best Director is chosen on the basis of a worldwide public voting/poll.

The IIFA Award for Best Director is meant to honor and encourage Film Directors for their extraordinary work in the relevant field.

Here is the list of the Winners of the IIFA Award for Best Director:

Winners – IFFA Award for Best Director

Winners of 2000s

IIFA AwardFilmDirector
1st IIFA Awards (2000)Hum Dil De Chuke SanamSanjay Leela Bhansali
2nd IIFA Awards (2001)Kaho Naa Pyaar HaiRakesh Roshan
3rd IIFA Awards (2002)Lagaan: Once Upon a Time in IndiaAshutosh Gowarikar
4th IIFA Awards (2003)DevdasSanjay Leela Bhansali
5th IIFA Awards (2004)Koi Mil GayaRakesh Roshan
6th IIFA Awards (2005)Veer-ZaaraYash Chopra
7th IIFA Awards (2006)BlackSanjay Leela Bhansali
8th IIFA Awards (2007)Lage Raho Munna BhaiRajkumaar Hirani
9th IIFA Awards (2008)Chak De IndiaShimit Amin
10th IIFA Awards (2009)Jodhaa AkbarAshutosh Gowariker

Winners of 2010s

IIFA AwardFilmDirector
11th IIFA Awards (2010)3 IdiotsRajkumar Hirani
12th IIFA Awards (2011)My Name Is KhanKaran Johar
13th IIFA Awards (2012)Zindagi Na Milegi DobaraZoya Akhtar
14th IIFA Awards (2013)BarfiAnurag Basu
15th IIFA Awards (2014)Bhaag Milkha BhaagRakeysh Omprakash Mehra
16th IIFA Awards (2015)PKRajkumar Hirani
17th IIFA Awards (2016)Bajirao MastaniSanjay Leela Bhansali
18th IIFA Awards (2017)PinkAniruddha Roy Chowdhury
19th IIFA Awards (2018)Hindi MediumSaket Chaudhary
20th IIFA Awards (2019)AndhadhunSriram Raghavan

Winners of 2020s

IIFA AwardFilmDirector
21st IIFA Awards (2021)Uri: The Surgical StrikeBhushan Kumar,
Krishan Kumar,
Murad Khetani,
Ashwin Varde
22nd IIFA Awards (2022)Coming upMarch 2022

You may also like:

  1. Winners of IIFA Popular Awards
  2. Winner of IIFA Music Awards
  3. Winner of IIFA Special Awards
  4. Winner of IIFA Technical Awards


We (Team Bollywood Product) often update or republish content on this website. We take utmost care and caution while updating or republishing the content so that the views can get updated information on the given topic.

We try our best to provide the best-authenticated data. We have also focused on a good user experience for our readers. That is why we have not monetized the site yet for the best user experience.

However, inadvertent errors and omissions are inevitable during the process. If you find any error or omission, please feel free to write us at BollywoodProduct.in@gmail.com. We will be more than happy to make the requisite correction.

Spread the Love:

It takes a lot to work without any monetary gains. And we have been doing the same for the last year. Thus, sharing the content on various social platforms and with your near and dear ones will provide a source of motivation for us. We promise you to provide the best value for your valuable time.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here