IIFA Award for Best Screenplay



  1. About IIFA Award for Best Screenplay
  2. Winners List
  3. Most Awarded Artists
  4. Highlights


The 1st IIFA Awards was held on 24 June 2000 at Millennium Dom, London, United Kingdom. Since then, the Award Ceremony is being held in different countries and continents. Above all, the IIFA Awards have become a symbol of glorifying the success of Bollywood in the world.

The IIFA Award for Best Screenplay is being given since the inception of the IIFA Awards in 2000. Sanjay Leela Bhansali became the first recipient of the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay. He received the award for Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam (1999).

The Award for Best Screenplay is a Technical Award and a part of the Annual IIFA Awards.

Here is the list of the Winners of the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay:

Winners – IFFA Award for Best Screenplay

Winners of the 2000s

IIFA AwardWinner(s)Film
1st IIFA Awards (2000)Sanjay Leela BhansaliHum Dil De Chuke Sanam
2nd IIFA Awards (2001)Farhan Akhtar,
Honey Irani
Kya Kehna
3rd IIFA Awards (2002)Farhan AkhtarDil Chahta Hai
4th IIFA Awards (2003)Mahesh BhattRaaz
5th IIFA Awards (2004)Lajan Joseph,
Rajkumar Hirani,
Vidhu Vinod Chopra
Munnabhai M.B.B.S.
6th IIFA Awards (2005)Abbas Tyrewala,
Vishal Bhardwaj
7th IIFA Awards (2006)Pradeep Sarkar,
Vidhu Vinod Chopra
8th IIFA Awards (2007)Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra,
Rensil D’Silva
Rang De Basanti
9th IIFA Awards (2008)Anurag Basu,
Jaideep Sahni
Life in a Metro
10th IIFA Awards (2009)Neeraj PandeyA Wednesday

Winners of the 2010s

IIFA AwardWinner(s)Film
11th IIFA Awards (2010)Abhijat Joshi
Rajkumar Hirani,
Vidhu Vinod Chopra
3 Idiots
12th IIFA Awards (2011)Abhinav Kashyap,
Dilip Shukla
13th IIFA Awards (2012)Reema Kagti,
Zoya Akhtar
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
14th IIFA Awards (2013)Anurag Basu,
Tani Basu
15th IIFA Awards (2014)Prasoon JoshiBhaag Milkha Bhaag
16th IIFA Awards (2015)Chaitally Parmaar,
Parveez Shaikh,
Vikas Bahl
17th IIFA Awards (2016)Kabir Khan,
Parveez Shaikh
Bajrangi Bhaijaan
18th IIFA Awards (2017)Ritesh ShahPink
19th IIFA Awards (2018)Nitesh Tiwari,
Shreyas Jain
Bareilly Ki Barfi
20th IIFA Awards (2019)Arijit Biswas,
Hemanth Rao,
Pooja Ladha Surti,
Sriram Raghavan,
Yogesh Chandekar

Winners of the 2020s

IIFA AwardWinner(s)Film
21st IIFA Awards (2021)Anubhav Sinha,
Gaurav Solanki
Article 15
22nd IIFA Awards (2022)Coming upMarch 2022

Most awarded Artists-IFFA Award for Best Screenplay

ArtistNumber of Awards
Vidhu Vinod Chopra3
Anurag Basu2
Farhan Akhtar2
Parveez Shaikh2
Rajkumar Hirani2

Vidhu Vinod Chopra | Win = 3

S. No.IIFA AwardYearFilm
15th IIFA Awards2004Mannabhai M.B.B.S.
27th IIFA Awards2006Parineeta
311th IIFA Awards20103 Idiots

Anurag Basu | Win = 2

S. No.IIFA AwardYearFilm
19th IIFA Awards2008Life in a Metro
214th IIFA Awards2013Barfi

Farhan Akhtar | Win = 2

S. No.IIFA AwardYearFilm
12nd IIFA Awards2001Kya Kehna
23rd IIFA Awards2002Dil Chahta Hai

Parveez Shaikh | Win = 2

S. No.IIFA AwardYearFilm
116th IIFA Awards2015Queen
217th IIFA Awards2016Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Rajkumar Hirani | Win = 2

S. No.IIFA AwardYearFilm
15th IIFA Awards2004Munnabhai M.B.B.S.
211th IIFA Awards20103 Idiots

Highlights-IFFA Award for Best Screenplay

  1. Sanjay Leela Bhansali became the first receiver of the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay in the 1st IIFA Awards (2000).
    • He won the award for Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam.
  2. Vidhu Vinod Chopra has won the most number of the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay.
    1. He has won three (3) IIFA Awards for Best Screenplay.
  3. Rajkumar Hirani, Parveez Shaikh, Anurag Basu, and Farhan Akhtar have won the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay twice.
  4. Farhan Akhtar and Parveez Shaikh have won the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay in consecutive years.
    • Farhan Akhtar won the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay in the 2nd IIFA Awards (2001) for Kya Kehna jointly with Honey Irani. Farhan won the 2nd IIFA Awards (2001) for Dil Chahta Hai in the 3rd IIFA Awards (2002).
      • Parveen Shaikh won the IIFA Award for Best Screenplay in the 16th IIFA Awards (2015) for Queen, jointly with Chaitally Parmaar and Vikas Bahl. He won the award in the 17th IIFA Awards (2016) for Bajrangi Bhaijaan jointly with Kabir Khan.

You may also like:

  1. Winners of IIFA Popular Awards
  2. Winner of IIFA Music Awards
  3. Winner of IIFA Special Awards
  4. Winner of IIFA Technical Awards


We (Team Bollywood Product) often update or republish content on this website. We consider the published article in Beta Mode [It is a mode where the end goal is only progress/improvement and not perfection].

We believe in providing good quality content for your viewers, and thus we consider ourselves in Beta mode to make improvements for betterment.

Bollywood Products takes utmost care and caution while updating or republishing the content so that viewers can get updated information on the given topic.

We try our best to provide the best-authenticated data. We have also focused on a good user experience for our readers. However, inadvertent errors and omissions are inevitable during the process. If you find any error or omission, please feel free to write us at BollywoodProduct.in@gmail.com. We will be more than happy to make the requisite correction if needed.

Spread the Love:

Sharing the content on various social platforms and with your near and dear ones will provide a source of motivation for us. We promise to deliver the best value for your valuable time.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here