34th Filmfare Awards South (1987)


The 34th Filmfare Awards South (1987) is a segment of the annual Filmfare Awards South. The ceremony was held in Chennai on 9 August 1987. It was the 13th time in a row when the ceremony was held in Chennai.

Filmfare Awards South was first held in Chennai in the year 1972. Moreover, it was the first time when the show was held outside Bombay.

Earlier Filmfare Awards South were used to be held in Bombay (now Mumbai) from 1964 to 1971 in a row.

However, the show was again held in Bombay in the years 1973 and 1974.

Thereafter since the 22nd Filmfare Awards South (1975), the ceremony started regularly in Chennai. 

About Filmfare Awards South

Filmfare Awards South is a separate segment of the annual Filmfare Awards. The First Filmfare Awards were given on 21 March 1954.

Initially, only Hindi cinema personalities get nominated and awarded in various Filmfare Categories. Thereafter, Filmfare started new segments like Filmfare South, Filmfare Marathi, and Filmfare Bengali.

Filmfare Magazine presents Filmfare Awards. The Time Group publish the Filmfare magazine. Filmfare Awards acknowledge and honor the talent of Hindi Cinema. Whereas Filmfare Awards South aims to consider South Indian Films and related film personalities to honor and encourage them.

Introduction of Filmfare Awards South 

South Film Industry makes films in mainly four languages namely Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, and Kannada. Thus, Filmfare Magazine introduced the new segment of Filmfare Awards for South.

The First Filmfare Award was held in the year 1954 in Bombay (now Mumbai). Filmfare presented awards, for Hindi Cinema, in five categories only.

Thereafter, Filmfare introduced Filmfare Awards South in the year 1964. Meaning thereby, after ten (10) years of the First Filmfare Awards held in Bombay (now Mumbai).

In the meantime, Filmfare also introduced Filmfare Awards East and Filmfare Marathi Awards in 1963. Filmfare Awards East were initially meant for Bangla Cinema. However, Assamese and Odia cinema were also included in the year 2014.

South Indian Films (Tamil and Telugu only) were considered in the 11th, 12th, and 13th Filmfare Awards South. Malayalam Films were added to the 14th Filmfare Awards South (1967). Thereafter, Kannada Films were also added to the 17th Filmfare Awards South. Thus, all four languages of South Indian Films were considered for awards since the 17th Filmfare Awards South (1970).

Introduction of New Categories

Filmfare Awards South presented awards in the category of Best Film only from 1964 to 1972.

Filmfare introduced new categories of awards in the 20th Filmfare Awards (1973). These new categories were Best Director, Best Actor, and Best Actress.

Thus, the number of award categories became four (4) since the 20th Filmfare Awards South (1973). Now onwards all awards were presented in all four main categories as such Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, and Best Actress.

List of Winners of 34th Filmfare Awards South (1987)

Winners of Tamil Cinema Awards

Award CategoryWinnerFilm
Best FilmM. Saravanan (Producer)Samsaram Adhu Minsaram
M. Balasubramanian (Producer)
Best DirectorMani Ratnam Mouna Raagam
Best ActorVijayakanthAmman Kovil Kizhakale
Best ActressRaadhikaDharma Devathai

Nominees and Winners Telugu Cinema Awards

Award CategoryWinnerFilm
Best Film+Ramoji Rao (Producer)Repati Pourulu
Best Director+K. Viswanath Swati Mutyam
Best Actor+Krishnam RajuTandra Paparayudu
Kamal HaasanSwati Mutyam
Best Actress+Lakshmi Sravana Meghalu
RaadhikaSwati Mutyam

Winners of Malayalam Cinema Awards

Award CategoryWinnerFilm
Best FilmP. V. Gangadharan (Producer)Vartha
Best DirectorHariharan Panchagni
Best ActorMohanlalSanmanassullavarkku Samadhanam
Best ActressShari Namukku Parkkan Munthiri Thoppukal

Winners of Kannada Cinema Awards

Award CategoryWinnerFilm
Best FilmParvathamma Rajkumar (Producer)Bhagyada Lakshmi Baramma
Best DirectorK. V. Jayaram Hosa Neeru
Best ActorRajkumarBhagyada Lakshmi Baramma
Best ActressSaritha Mouna Geethe

Special Jury Award

S. P. BalasubrahmanyamFor Outstanding Achievement
as a Playback Singer
Special Jury Awards (1987)-Filmfare South

Lifetime Achievement Award

Thikkurissy Sukumaran NairActor, Script Writer,
Director, Lyricist
Filmfare Lifetime Achievement (South) 1987

Most Awards-34th Filmfare Awards South (1987)

  • Film Bhagyada Lakshmi Baramma won two awards. 
    • The film won Best Film (Kannada) and Best Actor (Kannada).
    • No other film could win more than one award.
  • Film Swati Mutyam received three (3) nominations for Best Director (Telugu), Best Actor (Telugu), and Best Actress (Telugu).
    • However, the film won only the Best Director (Telugu) Award.
    • K. Viswanath won the award for Best Director (Telugu).

Highlights (34th Filmfare Awards South)

  • S. P. Balasubrahmanyam received the Special Filmfare Award South for outstanding achievement as a Playback Singer.
  • Filmmaker Thikkurissy Sukumaran Nair received the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award South (1986).
    • He received the award for outstanding contribution to South Indian Films.
  • Samsaram Adhu Minsaram won the Best Film Award (Tamil).
    • Repati Pourulu won the Best Film Award (Telugu).
    • Vartha won the Best Film Award (Malayalam).
    • Bhagyada Lakshmi Baramma won the Best Film Award (Kannada).
  • Mani Ratnam won the Best Director (Tamil) Award for the film Mouna Raagam.
    • K. Viswanath won the Best Director Award (Telugu) for the film Swati Mutyam.
    • Hariharan won the Best Director Award (Malayalam) for the film Panchagni.
    • K. V. Jayaram won the Best Director Award (Kannada) for the film Hosa Neeru.
  • Vijayakanth won the Best Actor Award (Tamil) for the film Amman Kovil Kizhakale.
  • Krishnam Raju won the Best Actor Award (Telugu) for the film Tandra Paparayudu.
  • Mohanlal won the Best Actor Award (Malayalam) for the film Sanmanassullavarkku Samadhanam.
  • Dr. Rajkumar won the Best Actor (Kannada) Award for the film Bhagyada Lakshmi Baramma.
  • Raadhika won the Best Actress Award (Tamil) for the film Dharma Devathai.
  • Lakshmi won the Best Actress Award (Telugu) for the film Sravana Meghalu.
  • Shari won the Best Actress Award (Malayalam) for the film Namukku Parkkan Munthiri Thoppukal.
  • Sarita Won the Best Actress (Kannada) for the film Mouna Geethe.

Related Articles

Filmfare Awards
Filmfare Awards South
Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here